DATE:	June 21, 2015
TO:	Board of Trustees
FROM:	Darrel Robertson, Superintendent of Schools
SUBJECT:	Michael A. Strembitsky Award Recipients
ORIGINATOR:	Lisa Austin, Managing Director, Communications
RESOURCE STAFF:	Cathy MacDonald
REFERENCE:	Board Policy AGA.BP – Recognition of Students, Staff, Parents and the Community Administrative Regulation HI.AR – Recognition of Students

ISSUE

Every year, each District high school may nominate a student for the Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence. A selection committee adjudicates the nominees based on the award's criteria and selects three recipients.

BACKGROUND

The Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence was established to honour the District's longest-serving superintendent, Michael A. Strembitsky. A gold, silver and bronze medallion and cheques in the amount of \$2,000, \$1,500 and \$1,000 respectively are presented to the three students who best exemplify the award criteria.

CURRENT SITUATION

Each of the following nominees will be introduced and receive a plaque.

Name	School
Kassandra Gower	amiskwaciy
Sarah Hendricks	Braemar
Janessa Layton	Eastglen
Brea Kesslar	Edmonton Christian
Alison Caulfield	201101101101
	Harry Ainlay
Jennifer Galm	J. Percy Page
Rafay Sharif	Jasper Place
Anna Goplen	Lillian Osborne
Joshua Lau	M.E. LaZerte
Nathan Hepas	Millwoods Christian
Stephanie Li	Old Scona
Emaan Elladen	Queen Elizabeth
Marlene Rong	Ross Sheppard
Darshina Dhunnoo	Strathcona
Olivia deBourcier	Victoria
Sofia Callaghan	Vimy Ridge
Judy Tran	W.P. Wagner

The bronze, silver and gold Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence recipients will be announced by the Board Chair.

CM:cm