

## **Organizational Board Meeting**

Minutes of the Organizational Board Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Edmonton School Division of the Province of Alberta held via Zoom on Tuesday, June 23, 2020, at 9:56 p.m.

#### Present:

#### **Trustees**

Sherry Adams	Trisha Estabrooks	Cheryl Johner
Shelagh Dunn	Nathan Ip	Bridget Stirling
Michelle Draper	Michael Janz	

## **Officials**

Angela Anderson	Karen Mills	Darrel Robertson
Grace Cooke	Leona Morrison	Carrie Rosa
Todd Burnstad	Lorne Parker	Mike Suderman
Ron MacNeil	Kent Pharis	Liz Yule

**Board Chair:** Trisha Estabrooks **Recording Secretary:** Shirley Juneau

## A. Roll Call:

The Superintendent advised that Trustee Gibson was absent. All other Trustees were present.

## B. Agenda

#### **MOVED BY Trustee Dunn:**

"That the agenda for the Organizational Board meeting be approved as printed." (UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED)

## C. Report

1. <u>Confirmation of Committees, Board Representation and Regular Meetings</u>

## **MOVED BY Trustee Ip:**

"That recommendations 1-9 be approved." (UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED)

# **RECOMMENDATIONS**

 That the following standing committees of the whole be confirmed: Caucus Committee
 Audit Committee



- 2. That the following Board committees be confirmed:
  - a) Governance and Evaluation
  - b) Policy Review
- 3. That Board representation on the following District staff negotiating committees as required be confirmed:
  - a) Custodial Staff (CUPE Local 474)
  - b) Maintenance Staff (CUPE Local 784)
  - c) Support Staff (CUPE Local 3550)
  - d) Teaching Staff (Edmonton Public Teachers' Local 37)
- 4. That Board membership and representation on the Public School Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA) be confirmed:
  - Provincial Executive
  - Provincial Executive Alternate
- 5. That Board membership and representation on the Alberta School Boards Association of Alberta (ASBA) be confirmed:
  - Provincial Executive
  - Provincial Executive Alternate
  - Zone 2/3 Executive
  - Zone 2/3 Executive Alternate
- That the Board's ASBA Issues and Resolutions Committee, comprised of the Board Chair or Board Vice-Chair, the ASBA Provincial Executive Board of Directors representative and the ASBA Zone 2/3 representative be confirmed.
- 7. That the following Ad Hoc Committee and Board representative assignment be confirmed:
  - Ad Hoc Advocacy Committee
  - Edmonton Public Schools Foundation Board of Governors
- 8. That the following dates and times of regular meetings be confirmed:
  - a) Board: The Board will hold its regular meetings at 2 p.m. the first and third Tuesday of each month when possible, unless otherwise directed by special motion or by the Board Chair.
  - b) Caucus Committee: Caucus Committee meetings will be held on an as-needed basis at the call of the Caucus Committee Chair. The first Tuesday morning of each month will be reserved for such meetings.
- 9. That the Board reappoint or review the following positions and committees:



1.	Standing Committee of the Whole:	2019-2020	2020-2021
	a) Board Chair	Trisha Estabrooks	Trisha Estabrooks
	b) Board Vice-Chair	Shelagh Dunn	Shelagh Dunn
	c) Audit Chair	Cheryl Johner	Cheryl Johner
2.	Board Committees:		-
	a) Governance and Evaluation	Michelle Draper	Michelle Draper
	(3 members)	Shelagh Dunn	Shelagh Dunn
		Ken Gibson	Ken Gibson
	b) Policy Review	Sherry Adams	Sherry Adams
	(3 members)	Michael Janz	Michael Janz
		Bridget Stirling	Bridget Stirling
3.	Negotiations:	2019-2020	2020-2021
	a) Custodial Staff (CUPE Local 474)	Trustee representatives	Michelle Draper
	(A Memorandum of Agreement was	were not required for the	Shelagh Dunn
	reached for the period of September 1,	<b>2019-2020</b> school year.	
	2017 – August 31, 2020)		
	b) Maintenance Staff (CUPE Local 784)	Trustee representatives	Sherry Adams
	(A collective agreement was ratified in	were not required for the	Michelle Draper
	2017-2018 for the period of	<b>2019-2020</b> school year.	
	September 1,2017-August 31, 2020)		
	c) Support Staff (CUPE Local 3550)	Trustee representatives	Trisha Estabrooks
	(A collective agreement has been	were not required for the	Bridget Stirling
	negotiated for the period	<b>2019-2020</b> school year.	
	September 1, 2017 – August 31, 2020)		
	d) Teaching Staff – Edmonton Public	Trisha Estabrooks	Michelle Draper
	Teachers' Local 37	Michael Janz (TEBA	Michael Janz (TEBA
	(A memorandum of agreement was	Representative)	Representative)
	reached for the period		
	September 1, 2016 – August 31, 2018)		
4.	Representatives for the Public School	Michael Janz	Michael Janz
	Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA)	Cheryl Johner	Cheryl Johner
	(2 Provincial Executives)	,	,
5.	Representatives for the Alberta Schools		
	Board Association (ASBA)		
	a) Provincial Executive	Trisha Estabrooks	Trisha Estabrooks
	*Provincial Board of Directors –		
	Director terms shall commence every		



	November of even-numbered years for one Director and one Alternate Director and shall be eligible for reelection for one successive term of two years.		
	<b>b)</b> Provincial Executive – Alternate	Michael Janz	Michelle Draper
	c) ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive	Sherry Adams	Sherry Adams
	d) ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive - Alternate	Michael Janz	Cheryl Johner
6.	ASBA Issues and Resolutions Committee		
	(1-year term – 3 positions)		
	<sup>1</sup> Board Chair or Vice-Chair	<sup>1</sup> Trisha Estabrooks	Trisha Estabooks
	<sup>2</sup> ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive representative	<sup>2</sup> Sherry Adams	Sherry Adams
	<sup>3</sup> ASBA Provincial Executive Board of Directors representative	<sup>3</sup> Trisha Estabrooks	Trisha Estabrooks
7.	Ad Hoc Committee and Board		
	Representative Assignment:		
	Ad Hoc Board Advocacy Committee		Trisha Estabrooks Nathan Ip Cheryl Johner
	Representative Assignment		
	Edmonton Public Schools Foundation	Nathan Ip	Michelle Draper

- D. <u>Next Board Meeting</u>: Tuesday, September 8, 2020, at 2:00 p.m.
- E. Adjournment: 10:00 p.m.

Trisha Estabrooks, Board Chair

Karen Mills, Director of Board and Superintendent Relations