

Organizational Board Meeting

Minutes of the Organizational Board meeting of the Board of Trustees of Edmonton School Division of Alberta held in Centre for Education McCauley Chambers on Tuesday, June 18, 2024.

Present:

Trustees

Trisha Estabrooks	Julie Kusiek	Sherri O'Keefe
Dawn Hancock	Marsha Nelson	Jan Sawyer
Marcia Hole		Saadiq Sumar

Officials

Angela Anderson	Karen Mills	Cliff Richard
Todd Burnstad	Kent Pharis	Carrie Rosa
Grace Cooke	Nancy Petersen	Ron Thompson
Andrea Cooper		Liz Yule

Board Chair: Julie Kusiek Recording Secretary: Catherine Angeles

A. Roll Call: 4:41 p.m.

The Superintendent advised that all Trustees were present.

B. Approval of the Agenda

MOVED BY Trustee O'Keefe:

"That the agenda for the June 18, 2024, Organizational Board meeting be approved as printed."
(UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED)

C. Reports

1. <u>Confirmation of Committees, Board Representation and Regular Meetings</u>

RECOMMENDATIONS

That the following actions be taken for the 2024 -2025 school year:

1. That the following standing committees of the whole be confirmed: Caucus Committee

Audit Committee



- 2. That the following Board committees be confirmed:
 - a) Governance and Evaluation
 - b) Policy Review
- 3. That Board representation on the following Division staff negotiating committees as required be confirmed:
 - a) Custodial Staff (CUPE Local 474)
 - b) Maintenance Staff (CUPE Local 784)
 - c) Support Staff (CUPE Local 3550)
 - d) Teaching Staff (Edmonton Public Teachers' Local 37)
- 4. That Board membership and representation on the Public School Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA) be confirmed:
 - Provincial Executive
 - Public School Boards Council (PSBC) Representative
 - Public School Boards Council (PSBC) Alternate Representative
- 5. That Board membership and representation on the Alberta School Boards Association of Alberta (ASBA) be confirmed:
 - Provincial Executive
 - Zone 2/3 Executive and Provincial Executive Alternate
 - Zone 2/3 Executive Alternate
- 6. That the following Ad Hoc Committee and Board representative assignments be confirmed:
 - Ad Hoc Advocacy Committee
 - Edmonton Public Schools Foundation Board of Governors
- 7. That the Board reappoint or review the following positions and committees:

1.	Standing Committee of the Whole:	2023-2024
	a) Board Chair	Julie Kusiek
	b) Board Vice-Chair	Jan Sawyer
	c) Audit Chair	Dawn Hancock
2.	Board Committees:	
	a) Governance and Evaluation	Marsha Nelson
	(4 members*)	Sherri O'Keefe (C)
		Saadiq Sumar
	b) Policy Review	Marcia Hole
	(4 members*)	Jan Sawyer
		Saadiq Sumar (C)

(*Trustees voted at the May 28, 2024, Caucus meeting to increase committee membership from three to four members.)



3.	Ne	gotiations:	2023-2024
	a)	Custodial Staff (CUPE Local 474)	Dawn Hancock
	_		Sherri O'Keefe
	b)	Maintenance Staff (CUPE Local 784)	Marcia Hole
	-		Marsha Nelson
	c)	Support Staff (CUPE Local 3550)	Trisha Estabrooks
			Jan Sawyer
	d)	Teaching Staff – Edmonton Public Teachers'	Jan Sawyer
		Local 37	Saadiq Sumar (TEBA Rep)
4.	Rej	presentatives for the Public School Boards'	
	Ass	sociation of Alberta (PSBAA):	
	(3 r	representatives)	
	a)	Provincial Executive – Director	Jan Sawyer
	b)	PSBC Representative	Marsha Nelson
	٠,١	DCDC Altaurata Dannasatatina	
5.		PSBC Alternate Representative	vacant (new requirement)
Э.	Representatives for the Alberta Schools Board Association (ASBA):		
		Provincial Executive ⁺	Dawn Hancock
	aj	*Provincial Board of Directors – Director terms	Dawii Halicock
		will commence every November of even-	
		numbered years for one Director and one	
		Alternate Director and will be eligible for re-	
		election for one successive term of two years.	
		election for one successive term of two years.	
	b)	Provincial Executive – Alternate	Trisha Estabrooks
	•		
	c)	ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive	Trisha Estabrooks
	d)	ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive – Alternate	Sherri O'Keefe
6.	Ad Hoc Committee and Board Representative		
	Assignment:		
	-	Ad Hoc Advocacy Committee	Trisha Estabrooks
	(up	to 9 members)	Julie Kusiek
			Marsha Nelson (C)
			Sherri O'Keefe
	b)	Representative Assignment	
		Edmonton Public Schools Foundation	Marcia Hole
7.		ard Representatives on Division Committees:	
	-	Equity Advisory Committee	Marcia Hole
	(2 r	members)	Saadiq Sumar



MOVED BY Trustee Sawyer:

"That recommendations 1 to 7 be approved."

MOVED BY Trustee Nelson the motion be amended:

"That recommendations 1 to 7 be approved as amended and defer the assignment of the Ad Hoc Advocacy Committee membership until September 2024."
(UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED)

The Board appointed and approved the following positions and committees:

1.	Standing Committee of the Whole:	2024-2025
	a) Board Chair	Julie Kusiek
	b) Board Vice-Chair	Jan Sawyer
	c) Audit Chair	Dawn Hancock
2.	Board Committees:	
	a) Governance and Evaluation	Dawn Hancock
	(4 members)	Marsha Nelson
		Sherri O'Keefe
		Jan Sawyer
	b) Policy Review	Trisha Estabrooks
	(4 members)	Marcia Hole
		Sherri O'Keefe
		Saadiq Sumar
3.	Negotiations:	
	a) Custodial Staff (CUPE Local 474)	Dawn Hancock
		Sherri O'Keefe
	b) Maintenance Staff (CUPE Local 784)	Marcia Hole
		Marsha Nelson
	c) Support Staff (CUPE Local 3550)	Trisha Estabrooks
		Jan Sawyer
	d) Teaching Staff – Edmonton Public Teachers'	Marsha Nelson
	Local 37	Saadiq Sumar (TEBA Rep)
4.	Representatives for the Public School Boards'	
	Association of Alberta (PSBAA):	
	(3 representatives)	
	a) Provincial Executive – Director	Jan Sawyer
	b) PSBC Representative	Sherri O'Keefe
	c) PSBC Alternate Representative	Marsha Nelson



			2024-2025
5.	Rej	presentatives for the Alberta Schools Board	
	Association (ASBA):		
	a)	Provincial Executive⁺	Dawn Hancock
		⁺ Provincial Board of Directors – Director terms	
		will commence every November of even-	
		numbered years for one Director and one	
		Alternate Director and will be eligible for re-	
		election for one successive term of two years.	
	b)	Provincial Executive – Alternate	Saadiq Sumar
	c)	ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive	Saadiq Sumar
	۹)	ASPA Zano 2/2 Evacutiva Altarnata	lan Sawyor
6.		ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive – Alternate	Jan Sawyer
О.	Ad Hoc Committee and Board Representative Assignment:		
		Ad Hoc Advocacy Committee	Deferred to September 2024
	-	to 9 members)	Deferred to September 2024
	(up	to 5 members,	
	h۱	Representative Assignment	
	IJ	· -	Marsha Nelson
-		Edmonton Public Schools Foundation	IVIAI SI IA INEISOIT
7.		ard Representatives on Division Committees:	Twicks Fatakus also
	-	Equity Advisory Committee	Trisha Estabrooks
	(2 r	nembers)	Saadiq Sumar

- D. <u>Next Board Meeting</u>: Tuesday, September 10, 2024, at 2 p.m.
- E. Adjournment: 4:58 p.m.

The Board Chair adjourned the meeting.

Julie Kusiek, Board Chair	Karen Mills, Director of Board and
	Superintendent Relations