

AGENDA

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Julie Kusiek Board Chair

Jan Sawyer Acting Vice-Chair

Trisha Estabrooks Dawn Hancock Marcia Hole Marsha Nelson Sherri O'Keefe Saadiq Sumar

The Board of Trustees of Edmonton School Division One Kingsway Edmonton, Alberta

Please note that the Organizational Board meeting will commence immediately following the regular Board meeting.

Organizational Board Meeting

CFE McCauley Chambers Tuesday, June 18, 2024 2 p.m.

- A. Roll Call
- B. Approval of the Agenda
- C. Reports
 - Confirmation of Committees, Board Representation and Regular Meetings (Recommendation)
- D. Meeting Dates
- E. Adjournment

DATE: June 18, 2024

TO: Board of Trustees

FROM: Darrel Robertson, Superintendent of Schools

SUBJECT: Confirmation of Committees, Board Representation and Regular Meetings

ORIGINATOR: Karen Mills, Director Board and Superintendent Relations

REFERENCE: Education Act Board Procedures Regulation (Section 1)

Trustees' Handbook (Sections 4-7)

ISSUE

In accordance with Section 1 of the *Education Act* Board Procedures Regulation: *The organizational meeting of a board shall be held annually; and, in any year in which a general election takes place, shall be held within 4 weeks following the date of that election.*

BACKGROUND

A list of the Board positions and committees, along with the names of the Trustees who held these positions in 2023-2024, is provided in Recommendation 7. In accordance with Board policy, these positions are all subject to reappointment or review each year.

RECOMMENDATIONS

That the following actions be taken for the 2024-2025 school year:

- 1. That the following standing committees of the whole be confirmed:
 - **Caucus Committee**

Audit Committee

- 2. That the following Board committees be confirmed:
 - a) Governance and Evaluation
 - b) Policy Review
- 3. That Board representation on the following Division staff negotiating committees as required be confirmed:
 - a) Custodial Staff (CUPE Local 474)
 - b) Maintenance Staff (CUPE Local 784)
 - c) Support Staff (CUPE Local 3550)
 - **d) Teaching Staff (Edmonton Public Teachers' Local 37)** (*The two confirmed representatives decided between themselves who will be the TEBA representative.*)
- 4. That Board membership and representation on the Public School Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA) be confirmed:
 - Provincial Executive Director
 - Public School Boards Council (PSBC) Representative
 - Public School Boards Council (PSBC) Alternate Representative

- 5. That Board membership and representation on the Alberta School Boards Association of Alberta (ASBA) be confirmed:
 - Provincial Executive -Director
 - Zone 2/3 Executive and Provincial Executive Alternate
 - Zone 2/3 Executive Alternate
- 6. That the following Ad Hoc Committee and Board representative assignments be confirmed:
 - Ad Hoc Advocacy Committee
 - Edmonton Public Schools Foundation Board of Governors
- 7. That the Board reappoint or review the following positions and committees:

1.	Standing Committee of the Whole:	2023-2024	
	a) Board Chair	Julie Kusiek	
	b) Board Vice-Chair	Jan Sawyer	
	c) Audit Chair	Dawn Hancock	
2.	Board Committees:		
	a) Governance and Evaluation	Marsha Nelson	
	(4 members*)	Sherri O'Keefe (C)	
		Saadiq Sumar	
	b) Policy Review	Marcia Hole	
	(4 members*)	Jan Sawyer	
		Saadiq Sumar (C)	
3.	Negotiations:		
	a) Custodial Staff (CUPE Local 474)	Dawn Hancock	
		Sherri O'Keefe	
	b) Maintenance Staff (CUPE Local 784)	Marcia Hole	
		Marsha Nelson	
	c) Support Staff (CUPE Local 3550)	Trisha Estabrooks	
		Jan Sawyer	
	d) Teaching Staff – Edmonton Public Teachers'	Jan Sawyer	
	Local 37	Saadiq Sumar (TEBA Rep)	
4.	Representatives for the Public School Boards'		
	Association of Alberta (PSBAA):		
	(3 representatives)		
	a) Provincial Executive – Director	Jan Sawyer	
	b) PSBC Representative	Marsha Nelson	
	c) PSBC Alternate Representative	vacant (new requirement)	

(*Trustees voted at the May 28, 2024 Caucus meeting to increase committee membership from three to four members.)

5.	Representatives for the Alberta Schools Board		
	Association (ASBA):		
	a)	Provincial Executive ⁺	Dawn Hancock
		⁺ Provincial Board of Directors – Director terms	
		will commence every November of even-	
		numbered years for one Director and one	
		Alternate Director and will be eligible for re-	
		election for one successive term of two years.	
	b)	Provincial Executive – Alternate	Trisha Estabrooks
	c)	ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive	Trisha Estabrooks
	d)	ASBA Zone 2/3 Executive – Alternate	Sherri O'Keefe
6.	Ad Hoc Committee and Board Representative		
	Assignment:		
	a)	Ad Hoc Advocacy Committee	Trisha Estabrooks
	(up	to 9 members)	Julie Kusiek
			Marsha Nelson (C)
			Sherri O'Keefe
	b)	Representative Assignment	
		 Edmonton Public Schools Foundation 	Marcia Hole
7.	Во	ard Representatives on Division Committees:	
	a)	Equity Advisory Committee	Marcia Hole
	(2 ו	members)	Saadiq Sumar

KM:ca