Information Report

DATE: May 28, 2024

TO: Board of Trustees

FROM: Darrel Robertson, Superintendent of Schools

SUBJECT: Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence

ORIGINATOR: Carrie Rosa, Managing Director, Communications

RESOURCE

STAFF: Cathy MacDonald, Carrie Rosa

REFERENCE: Board Policy AGA.BP – Recognition of Students, Staff, Parents and the Community

<u>Administrative Regulation HI.AR – Recognition of Students</u>

ISSUE

Every year, each Division high school may nominate a student for the Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence. A selection committee adjudicates the nominees based on the award's criteria and selects three recipients.

BACKGROUND

The Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence was established to honour the Division's longest-serving superintendent, Michael A. Strembitsky. A gold, silver and bronze medallion and cheques in the amount of \$2,000, \$1,500 and \$1,000 respectively are presented to the three Grade 12 students who best exemplify the award criteria.

CURRENT SITUATION

Each of the following nominees will be acknowledged and receive a plaque.

Name School

Emily Berg Noskiye Academy at King Edward
Noorinder Kaur Centre High Campus
Chelsea Kwon Dr. Anne Anderson School

Madi Halton Eastglen School

Hiwot Gebremedhin Edmonton Christian High School

Kendall Li
Jules Ng
J. Percy Page School
Khadija Hasan
Jasper Place School
Essica Cheung
Clark Hunter
M. E. LaZerte School
Taylor Aitkin
McNally School

Zaedra Vollman Millwoods Christian School

Elizabeth Chen Old Scona School
Eyas Kadri Queen Elizabeth School
Tajaswi Bhandari Ross Sheppard School
Cristina Iordache Strathcona School



Information Report

Athena Annika Reyes Victoria School
Blair Sprague Vimy Ridge Academy
Naman Gautam W. P. Wagner School

The bronze, silver and gold Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence recipients will be announced by the Board Chair at the public Board meeting on May 28, 2024.

CR:cm