EPSB.ca » News » Staff


<< back to news listing

Six teachers recognized for excellence

Fri, 31 May, 2013

Six teachers recognized for excellence

‌Six educators from Edmonton Public Schools have received 2013 Excellence in Teaching Awards. The recipients were recognized at a gala hosted by Alberta Education in Edmonton on May 25.

The award winners are:

  • Kristen Buchynski, a teacher at A. Blair McPherson School;
  • Sandra Carl Townsend, the principal at Forest Heights School;
  • Yanick Jean-Proulx, a department head at Harry Ainlay School;
  • Jody Lundell, the principal at Westglen School;
  • Tiffany Reed, a teacher at Queen Elizabeth School; and
  • Linette Smith, Strathcona, a department head at Strathcona School.

In addition to the finalists, the district had 28 teachers among the semi-finalists for the award.

Congratulations to these amazing teachers, department heads and principals on receiving this well-deserved award.

At Edmonton Public Schools, our values and beliefs are reflected in the passion and dedication of our teachers. Their work helps us to reach our vision by guiding and encouraging students to develop the ability, passion and imagination to pursue their dreams and contribute to their community. Congratulations to all our award winning teachers on their well-deserved recognition this past year. Thanks also to all of our teachers for the incredible work they do each day to support their students, our District and public education.

The 2013 Excellence in Teaching Awards semi-finalists:

  • Edith Alcorn, Brookside
  • Suzanne Bélanger, M.E. LaZerte
  • Kristen Buchynski, A. Blair McPherson
  • Lorelei Campbell, George P. Nicholson
  • Sandra Carl Townsend, Principal, Forest Heights
  • Linda-Rae Carson, M.E. LaZerte
  • Paul Copeland, Harry Ainlay
  • Jade Eremenko, Kate Chegwin
  • Shelley Filan, Strathcona
  • Melanie Glaves, Centre High
  • Dao Haddad, Delton
  • Rebecca Harrison, Allendale
  • Conrad Hope, Strathcona
  • Yanick Jean-Proulx, Harry Ainlay
  • James Kosowan, Queen Elizabeth
  • Alan Lewis, Queen Elizabeth
  • Jody Lundell, Principal, Westglen
  • Douglas Macdonald, Eastglen
  • Rob McPhee, Principal, Allendale
  • Tiffany Reed, Queen Elizabeth
  • Kelly Reierson, Strathcona
  • Tracey Schaufele, S. Bruce Smith
  • Jenni Shwetz, Lillian Osborne
  • Linette Smith, Strathcona
  • Michael Steele, Hillcrest
  • Davey Thompson, Lillian Osborne
  • Debra Watts-Godin, A. Blair McPherson
  • Art Zhang, Esther Starkman

2012 - Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence
Certificates of Achievements are:

  • Sherryl Clelland, Victoria
  • Scott Couprie, McNally
  • Cheryl Devin, S. Bruce Smith
  • Jeff Goldie, Strathcona
  • Yanick Jean-Proulx, Harry Ainlay
  • Joyce Sneddon, Dovercourt
  • Elissa Woolnough, Windsor Park

2013 Edwin Parr - First Year Teacher Award
(District Nominee)

  • Michelle Jackson, Eastglen

Certificate of Commendation Health and Physical Education Council (HPEC)

  • Kim Hordal-Hlewka, Consultant, Central Services

Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APPEGA)

  • Catherine Muri, Weinlos
  • Shannon Sookochoff, Argyll Centre

Confucius Institute/ASBA Chinese Language and Culture Teacher Bursary Program

  • Karen Chung, Centre High

National Inclusive Education Award

  • Meghan Loney, Beacon Heights