EPSB.ca » Our District » Board of Trustees » Student Senate

Student Senate

Representing the District’s more than 200 schools, Student Senators work with the Board of Trustees and Administration to discuss ideas and concerns about education, share their perspectives and propose solutions to current challenges.


The Student Senate is made up of up to two students from each of the District’s 24 high schools. They are elected or appointed for one school-year term.

After a two-year developmental phase, the Board of Trustees approved the Student Senate model in 2015. The first Student Senate formed in the 2016-17 school year. 


Senators collectively gather student feedback. They use that feedback to prioritize areas of focus. From there, they develop a workplan for the school year. The Senate meets monthly to work on projects and give progress updates. 

Learn more about the accomplishments of the 2017-18 Student Senate


In September, the Senate elects a Student Senate Executive and three Student Trustees.

Student Trustees attend three public Board meetings a year to: 

  • present their work plan for the year (October)
  • give an update on progress related to their workplan (February) 
  • report on the year's results (June) 


The following Student Senators were selected by their schools. 


   Eastglen School Zachary Flynn
Emma Matthews
   Edmonton Christian High School Bethany Snaterse
Jake Thorsteinson
   Harry Ainlay School Parissa Pakhahal
Kirsten Dufour
   J. Percy Page School  Farzeen Ather
Radhika Joshi
   Jasper Place School 
Arianna Estillore
Mark Anthony Sharphead
   Lillian Osborne School
Fariha Rahman
Qayyum Deuji
   M.E. LaZerte School Michelle Leung
Zachery Yeung
   McNally School Astrid Krueger
Michael deMarco
   Millwoods Christian School Elizabeth Lavoie
Grant Mix
   Old Scona School Andrew Li
Armaan Somani
   Queen Elizabeth School  Fatema Mahmod
Jana Al Hammouri
   Ross Sheppard School Raeann Au
Karolina Balint
   Strathcona School Alex Erickson
Ryan Jacques
   Victoria School  Liz Lawlan
   Vimy Ridge Academy Kaia Goodhope
Tessa Molnar
   W.P. Wagner School Neel Patel 
Victoria Bastide