EPSB.ca » News » Staff


<< back to news listing

2014 Excellence in Teaching Awards Semi-Finalists

Wed, 2 Apr, 2014

News: 2014 Excellence in Teaching Awards Semi-Finalists

Congratulations to all 37 district staff who were selected by Alberta Education as 2014 Excellence in Teaching Awards semi-finalists. These teachers are among 113 Alberta-wide semi-finalists. Trustees will honour the district semi-finalists at a board event on May 1.

Education Minister Jeff Johnson has invited all northern Alberta semi-finalists to attend a regional celebration which includes a day of professional development followed by an evening dinner on April 8.  From the 113 semi-finalists, 20 will be chosen to receive a provincial Excellence in Teaching Award, and Alberta Education will announce the final award recipients during the week of May 20-24. Both semi-finalists and award recipients will have access to reserve funds for professional development.

The Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize innovative and outstanding teaching that takes place every day in Alberta. This year’s district semi-finalists include:

  • Anna Janzen, A. Blair McPherson School
  • Arlene Lipkewich, A. Blair McPherson School
  • Alina Tirlea Engstrom, Academy at King Edward
  • Caroline Lakusta, Bessie Nichols School
  • Leanne Cheung, Centre High Campus
  • Patricia Lim, Centre High Campus
  • Amy Peter, Coronation School
  • Maureen Stoneham, Delton School
  • Denice Gubersky, Dovercourt School
  • Amanda Forster, Dr. Donald Massey School
  • Marla Korcek, École Dunluce School
  • Patti Lorentz, École Greenfield School
  • Ruth Powell, École Greenfield School
  • John Chase, Grandview Heights School
  • Patricia Baker, Harry Ainlay School
  • Lloyd Bloomfield, Harry Ainlay School
  • Marnie White, Harry Ainlay School
  • Terry Wiebe, Jasper Place School
  • Ahmed Haymour, Killarney School          
  • Janet Fast, L.Y. Cairns School
  • Coreen Hudec, Lillian Osborne School
  • Bradley Whittingham, Lillian Osborne School
  • Terry Colp, M.E. LaZerte School
  • Joseph Teshima, M.E. LaZerte School
  • Ginette Marcoux, McKernan School
  • Mark Woodward, Ottewell School
  • Leanne Hesterman, Queen Elizabeth School
  • Brenda Scaddan, Queen Elizabeth School
  • Angela Bosscha, Riverbend School
  • Mary-Anne Ranieri, Ross Sheppard School
  • Angela Gunn, Rundle School
  • Burke Sperling, Strathcona School
  • Rachelle Miller, Talmud Torah School
  • Bill Howe, Victoria School of the Arts
  • Danielle Couillard, Westbrook School
  • Paulette Jodoin-Williams, Windsor Park School
  • Joanne Olsen, Youngstown School

View Alberta Education’s full semi-finalist list here.