EPSB.ca » News » Staff


<< back to news listing

Four first-year teachers receive Edwin Parr Award

Tue, 5 Mar, 2024

News item: Edwin Parr Award for first year teachers 2024

At the March 5 Board meetingEdmonton Public Schools recognized four outstanding teachers for the Edwin Parr Award for first-year teachers. The finalists are:

  • Timon Mueller, Greenview School
  • Bridget Jessome, Hillview School
  • Shaeleigh Kokot, Joey Moss School
  • Kate Jolicoeur, Soraya Hafez School

Kate Jolicoeur was selected as the Division’s honorary nominee and will move forward to represent Edmonton Public Schools in the Alberta School Boards Association zone finals. Congratulations to all the finalists!

Four first-year teachers were recognized with the Edwin Parr Award: Timon Mueller from Greenview School, Bridget Jessome from Hillview School, Shaeleigh Kokot from Joey Moss School, and Kate Jolicoeur from Soraya Hafez School.

From left to right: Kate Jolicoeur (Soraya Hafez), Timon Mueller (Greenview), Shaeleigh Kokot (Joey Moss) and Bridget Jessome (Hillview)


Each year, the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) honours four outstanding first-year teachers with the Edwin Parr Teacher Award. School boards may nominate any first-year Kindergarten to Grade 12 teacher who has taught in an Alberta school jurisdiction that is a member of the ASBA.