EPSB.ca » News » Students


<< back to news listing

2017 Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence recipients

Wed, 21 Jun, 2017

News item: 2017 Michael A. Strembitsky Award recipients

The District honoured three graduating students with the Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence at a board meeting on June 20, 2017. The award recognizes students who exemplify personal, social and academic excellence, possess leadership skills, want to seek meaningful change and have courage, initiative and confidence.

Left to right: Superintendent Darrell Robertson, Sarenna Lalani, Kyle Hennig, Grace Konrad and Michael A. Strembitsky. 

Sarenna Lalani from Lillian Osborne School was awarded the gold medallion ($2,000), Kyle Hennig from Strathcona School received the silver medallion ($1,500) and Grace Konrad from Harry Ainlay School received the bronze medallion ($1,000).


Lalani has a 97.3 per cent average, is president of her school’s student council and has volunteered her time to tackle issues of homelessness, mental health and literacy. She created the Inclusive Lunch Program at her school after noticing students with special needs often ate lunch alone.


Hennig achieved Honours with Distinction, is founder of his school’s programming club, designed a mobile app for his school and is active in various school teams and initiatives.


Konrad maintains an academic average in the 90s, is an athlete and musician and volunteers both in school and with community organizations that help the homeless, elderly and children.

For more information: