EPSB.ca » News » Students


<< back to news listing

2021 Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence

Tue, 22 Jun, 2021

News item: 2021 Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence

The Division honoured 18 nominees recognized for the Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence at the June 22 virtual Board meeting. The award recognizes students who exemplify personal, social and academic excellence, have leadership skills, want to seek meaningful change, and demonstrate confidence and initiative. 


Three graduating students took home the gold, silver and bronze medallion awards for the outstanding work they’re doing in their schools and communities.

Johanna Lau from M.E. LaZerte School was awarded the gold medallion ($2,000), Eric Au from Ross Sheppard School received the silver medallion ($1,500) and Penny Gullion from Victoria School received the bronze medallion ($1,000).

From left to right: Johanna Lau, Eric Au and Penny Gullion

We encourage you to check out this year’s nominee and recipient guide, and read all about the amazing initiatives, clubs and projects these three outstanding students have been involved with.